Album Details

Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

Weld, Neil Young's two-hour-plus double-CD chronicle of his 1991 Ragged Glory/Smell the Horse Tour with Crazy Horse, was received with only mild enthusiasm from Young's fans and rock critics, perhaps because it seemed redundant. Such warhorses as "Like a Hurricane" and "Cortez the Killer" were making their fourth appearances on a Young album, and the five songs from the Ragged Glory album were basically unchanged from their studio versions. Containing only 16 tracks, the album's songs averaged over seven and a half minutes in length, and that length was given over to extended guitar improvisations, which often were filled with feedback and distortion. Where Young's previous double live album, Live Rust, which bore some similarities to this one, was a career retrospective including some acoustic numbers, Weld was all electric rock with Crazy Horse. The one previously unreleased song was a Gulf War-era cover of Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind," complete with gunshots and exploding bombs. In retrospect, Weld seems like an excellent expression of one part of Young's musical persona, putting some of his best hard rock material onto one album. [Initially, Weld was released in a 25,000 copy limited-edition called Arc Weld (Reprise 26746) containing a third disc made up of guitar feedback and called "Arc."]
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black)
  2. Crime in the City
  3. Blowin' in the Wind
  4. Welfare Mothers
  5. Love to Burn
  6. Cinnamon Girl
  7. Mansion on the Hill
  8. F*!#in' Up
  9. Cortez the Killer
  10. Powderfinger
  11. Love and Only Love
  12. Rockin' in the Free World
  13. Like a Hurricane
  14. Farmer John
  15. Tonight's the Night
  16. Roll Another Number (For the Road)