Album Details

RELEASE
March 02, 2010
LABEL
Mercury Nashville
GENRES
Country, New Traditionalist, Contemporary Country

Album Review

If the honky tonk nation gathered and rejoiced publicly every time an artist came along with a sound steeped in the past -- which is rarer in the 21st century than a two-headed dog -- the cheers would have been deafening when Easton Corbin's "A Little More Country Than That" first hit the airwaves. The Top Ten single, from Corbin's 2010 self-titled album, is as old school as it gets. Producer Carson Chamberlain's new penny polish and Corbin's traditional twang balance each other out nicely. Corbin's debut is jam-packed with the sounds of yesterday. From the opening cut, the chugging "Roll with It," to the disc-closing "Leavin' a Lonely Town," a jangly number with stinging steel and forlorn fiddle, Corbin delivers a stone solid country collection. The latter could be a lost song from Steve Earle's groundbreaking Guitar Town sessions. The album's standout track, the cleverly titled "I Can't Love You Back," is a hardcore power ballad that aims straight for the heart. Corbin turns out a hanky-worthy vocal performance. Corbin's traditionally tinted voice isn't his only asset; the Florida native co-wrote four of the album's songs, including the funny-bone slam "That'll Make You Wanna Drink." Fans of George Strait will notice Corbin sounds a lot like "King George," which when you think about it, isn't really a bad thing at all. Now let's have a big cheer from the honky tonk nation.
Todd Sterling, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Roll with Ithttp://itunes.apple.com/album/roll-with-it/id354714899?i=354714997&uo=5
  2. A Little More Country Than Thathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-little-more-country-than/id354714899?i=354715035&uo=5
  3. This Far From Memphishttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-far-from-memphis/id354714899?i=354715048&uo=5
  4. The Way Love Lookshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-way-love-looks/id354714899?i=354715080&uo=5
  5. Someday When I'm Oldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/someday-when-im-old/id354714899?i=354715125&uo=5
  6. Don't Ask Me About a Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/easton-corbin/id354714899?uo=5
  7. I Can't Love You Backhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cant-love-you-back/id354714899?i=354715214&uo=5
  8. A Lot To Learn About Livin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/a-lot-to-learn-about-livin/id354714899?i=354715360&uo=5
  9. Let Alone Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/let-alone-you/id354714899?i=354715475&uo=5
  10. That'll Make You Wanna Drinkhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thatll-make-you-wanna-drink/id354714899?i=354715513&uo=5
  11. Leavin' a Lonely Townhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/leavin-a-lonely-town/id354714899?i=354715530&uo=5
purchase full album