Album Details

March 01, 2005
Friday Music
Pop/Rock, CCM, Country-Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Christian

Album Review

It's no surprise that this CD sounds a lot like a lost Poco album -- beyond being the work of Richie Furay, it also features Jim Messina, Paul Cotton and Rusty Young; add to that the presence of such renowned figures as Chris Hillman, Jimmy Ibbotson and Jeff Hanna, and you've got not only an intersection with the Souther-Hillman-Furay Band, but also a recording with roots deep in first-generation folk-rock-cum-country-rock. And pretty much that's where this album comes down, on the country-rock side of gospel music (or is it the gospel side of country music?). Furay's goal here was to create an album of American worship songs -- he became a Christian rocker some years ago, and has very effectively merged those two parts of who he is on I Am Sure, his lyrics drawn from the Bible, but the obvious sincerity and inspiration behind much of what's here is genuinely moving; as a singer as well as a musician, Furay knows how to wrap a melody around a psalm and make both of them count for something bigger than their individual parts. Even more important, this all works as music, too, at least from a traditional country-rock standpoint -- there aren't any musical revelations here (no joke intended), though "Shout to the Ruler" comes close and the build-up to the harmonization on "Overflow" bears more than one listen, but in many ways this is a beautifully soulful follow-up to many of Poco's best moments from their early albums. Some of the melodies vaguely resemble traditional sources -- "Most High" has moments that make one think of "Poor Wayfaring Stranger" -- but there are enough twists, including some pretty good rocking moments (especially on the guitars), sufficient to make this more than an exercise in latter-day folk-rock. It's all well worth a listen or two or three, and won't disappoint fans of Poco or any of Furay's other '70s-era musical ventures.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. With My Whole Heart
  2. Jesus, Eternal King
  3. Shout to the Ruler
  4. Overflow
  5. Most High
  6. Wonderfully Praised
  7. So Far to Go
  8. Father of Glory (Give the Glory to You)
  9. City of God
  10. Precious Blood
  11. I Am Sure
  12. Come and Praise Him
  13. Deep Within My Heart
purchase full album